Doubles Darts Tournament 2019

Posted on in Competitions

The final of the Darts doubles competition took place at club on the 13th May between Chris Gridley & Chirag Kunverji, against Mark Bucke & Kenji O’Connor

Chris was appearing in his 9th sports final, he was last year’s runner-up and he won this competition in 2014 & 2015. He also won the singles title in 2017. This was Chirag’s first darts final. Both of their opponents were appearing in their first-ever Tanglewood sports final.

Chris and Chirag got off to a cracking start and won the first leg of a best-of-five final.  Mark & Kenji had no answer to the superb throwing by their opponents and it was soon 2 – 0.  The third leg was much closer and all four players had several chances to win the all-important third leg but it was Chris & Chirag won it and so became the 2019 champions with a final score of 3 – 0

Before the final started the highest score of the tournament was held by Michael Egan with his 89 in the semi final. However, during the final itself Chris eclipsed that by throwing a 102 so he took that trophy as well.

Congratulations to all four players who are pictured receiving their trophies from our special guest Maureen Davis.